More Guns of August, and scale creep

Some later war germans, and some spares turned to engineer stands. Who knew they were green?

Some later war germans, and some spares turned to engineer stands. Who knew they were green?

As we consider how to address the late war WWI stuff  in scale we decided to do some experimental pieces. In support of this I put together a couple of later war german mortars in 15mm. Some of the group lean toward 10mm; personally, I have enough problem seeing 15mm lead, right now I feel those other chaps are too small. I have purchased some 10m lead though, so it is possible my opinion may change. In the interim, I ordered a couple of mortars from Blue Moon; while expensive, they came with enough chaps to make up two engineer stands also.

Very nice figures, but large, and the mortar on the left reminds me of Big Bertha

Very nice figures, but large, and the mortar on the left reminds me of Big Bertha

In my ignorance I thought the later war Germans were in grey (it must be from looking at black and white photos); some small amount of research put them in green grey, so that is how I have painted them here. They have certainly come up well; they are really nice figures, good variety in the bags, and a treat to paint.

Fake Engineer stands. If old "Commando" comics are anything to go by, they are all pointing and yelling "Achtung"

Fake Engineer stands. If old “Commando” comics are anything to go by, they are all pointing and yelling “Achtung”

But they are HUGE. Their 76mm minenwefer (yes, I know I left the wheels on, I like the wheels) is taller than a french 75mm. In fact their mortars will not fit on the prescribed 1″ x 1″ base, it needed to go on a 1.5″ x 1″. This might well be a problem for scale footprint on the boards, but might not be such an issue as mortar stands are fairly limited in quantity.

However, it is clear to me from these pictures,

Nice little figures all in a row. Blue Moon, Irregular, and Peter Pig from the left

Nice little figures all in a row. Blue Moon, Irregular, and Peter Pig from the left

Frontal view of figures; Hmmm.. some of these chaps were fed better than others as children

Frontal view of figures; Hmmm.. some of these chaps were fed better than others as children

that the figures are not mixable. In the pictures with the 2 french stands and the german we have Peter Pig (the old sculpts; I am not sure they have re-done their Early war French yet, but I know they have redone their Germans, and the re-done ones are a little bigger) then we have an Irregular miniatures mortar (as discussed here) and finally the Blue Moon German one.

As I said, the Blue Moon figures are great. The mortars are good as well. But they are really not mixable with the Peter Pig ones, they loom over them like Frankenstien’s monster over a torch-lit villager. The Irregular miniatures ones would probably not be noticeably out of place with either of the other manufacturer’s product.

If we were adding these to our existing armies, this would all be an issue. However, these are being looked at for the late war project, so mix ability is not that huge of an issue (see what I did there?).

Decisions, decisions.

4 comments

  1. 40kterminatus

    Perhaps try raising the bases for the smaller figures and getting roughly the same height ? Even so the Germans do look very well fed.

    • Empty Comments

      I did think that I could build up the bases, and at least get the heights to match, but even then, as you say, the bigger ones are so much wider I am not sure it would be worth the effort.

  2. Pingback: WWI opposition | Tales of cunning (losing) plans for gaming
  3. Pingback: A smaller World War I | Tales of cunning (losing) plans for gaming

Leave a Reply

