More Artillery

Les 75s et mortars. Usual low standard of painting, I am afraid

Les 75s et mortars. Usual low standard of painting, I am afraid

So I continue on the World War I anniversary kick, The WWI Spearhead rules we use give mortars to 1915 armies to a certain extent, so the the first move has been to fill out our current 1914 armies with these tools, making the current figures a little more flexible. Of course, everyone changed cuostume in 1915/16 so clearly we are going to need a different solution for that, but we have not got that far yet; there has been some discussion of looking at 10mm, so much so I acquired some, and will post some results when I get some painted.

The mortar stands. Once more I found assembling the things too fiddly for me.

The mortar stands. Once more I found assembling the things too fiddly for me.

In any case, to continue. Early war french mortars are not commonly available, but Irregular Miniatures came through once more, providing me with 6 mortars and crew, and 4 75mm guns.
Without thinking about it that much (something my friends will say is fairly common for me) I painted the mortars as infantry; quick reference to some photos gave a rough approximation of artillerists uniform for the 75mm battery. Once more the figures painted nicely, but I did struggle with putting together the guns; as you can see the one on the end looks like it has suffered a severe thump as a result of my lack of model making skills. I am happy enough with the final result, I will admit.

Les Soixante-cinqs. I really messed up the one on the right, it would just not stay stuck

Les Soixante-cinqs. I really messed up the one on the right, it would just not stay stuck

If I had thought of it, some reference to see what uniform the mortar crews wore would have been appropriate, but I am certainly not going to go back and change things at this late stage in the game. So if mortar crews were seconded from the artillery in the fFrench army 100 years ago, I apologise, but they have been issued with “Les Pantalons Rouge”

One comment

  1. Pingback: More Guns of August, and scale creep | Tales of cunning (losing) plans for gaming

Leave a Reply

