A French Brigade

After an incredibly long hiatus, caused completely by my own apathy (honestly I was rather unwell for a number of months, and it took some time to get restarted)  I’ll post more bad pictures of stuff I’ve painted. Badly. Oh well, never mind. The painting and gaming proved a little easier to continue than the whole blogging and tiding up thing, so there is a backlog of stuff that got done.

Another brigade of froggies

Another brigade of froggies

Here we have more French troops for our (now somnolent) Maurice campaign. Some more exist on a previous post also. While Maurice ran well for a long while, the group felt that all the battles were “samey” and interest dropped off. Personally, I think its right that all Age of Reason battles be samey, and that some of the issues we had with the game were caused by scale/table size things. I never had the motivation to press especially hard, though.

Grenadier de France used as a guard regiment

Grenadier de France used as a guard regiment

I decided to paint some remaining French figures I had (all Front Rank) with water based oils again, more or less as experiments. I was not entirely pleased with the results I got; it is clear my technique needs work. They do look well enough though, for a gaming table.

The Grenadier de France were painted a fill in for an elite battalion in Maurice; which is a terrible stretch as they apparently were the Grenadier companies of Militia regiments from all over France. They look fairly pretty though, so I suppose we can accept them.

Behind them is a battalion of Champagne, which are older figures I rebased and supplied new flags for. Fairly certain I did not paint them, and once of the other locals did, but I fear I have no idea who.

I think Champagne are Old Glory, but again am not sure.

Vol. Schomberg backed by Vol. Bretonais

Vol. Schomberg backed by Vol. Bretonais

Then we have the goofy irregular chaps. Apparently the French Army in the middle of the 18th century was much beset by volunteer irregular regiments, which I am sure were a trail to the classically trained generals. As all such regiments throughout all times, they were uniformed in what their contemporaries could only describe as a bizarre manner.

So here we have the Volunteers Schomberg, wearing the Schomberg hat that would become more and more common in the French army as the century progressed. I must admit I feel constrained to ask “WHY” it became used more; while it may  look interesting, it is clearly not as practical for some guy slogging along in the sleet as a hat with a nice wide brim. And it probably rusts.

Never mind, here they are. I am even more unhappy with this paint job than with the Grenadiers. It just does not have the shading I was look for, which is terribly unfortunate as that is why I was using these paints in the first place.

The Breton guys behind have an equally bizarre uniform, with the wrap around hat (mirlton) which was popular among hussars, and once more I only rebased them they were painted by someone else.

Hussars

Hussars

Finally we have the hussars. Probably the paint job I’m happiest with, but the bloke who was running the “French” army in the campaign wanted the Grey on Grey and Grey uniforms (Most unhussarlike) so they came out fairly bland. Hussars, in my opinion, should not be bland, they should look like the blokes most likely to start the evening with a lampshade on their heads, or to be in the front row at a rastafarian concert. Or whatever the 18th century equivalents where. They probably involve lots of “s” words like swilling, and swiving and supping….

Never mind, thats just me.

More stuff coming up shortly.

Leave a Reply

